How To Delete TikTok Story – Easy Steps (2022)

TikTok is a tremendous app for content creators looking to make personal videos, spread awareness, or use them as advertising. This rising platform offers many features to its users, such as posting videos and stories and starting live videos to connect with their audience. In addition, TikTok has recently introduced the Story option, following the footsteps of other applications such as WhatsApp, Instagram, Snapchat, and Facebook

How To Delete TikTok Story

These apps have similar mechanisms for posting, editing, and deleting stories; however, there are a few differences. We’ve got it covered if you’re new to TikTok and wondering how to delete an unwanted story. In our comprehensive guide, we’ll unpack everything about how to delete your TikTok story, so read on!  

 

How Do TikTok Stories Work

TikTok stories are short videos or segments that can last up to 15 seconds. If 15 seconds aren’t enough, you can break up these videos by re-recording them, and they’ll show up in order. 

You can use this feature for videos you want to share with your audience without your content being savable or permanent. TikTok stories show up on your account handle for 24 hours and then disappear, just like other social media platforms’ stories. 

These stories appear on your followers’ feeds and can be accessed if your audience clicks on your profile. A blue ‘Story’ icon is present on your account that your followers can click on to access your TikTok stories. 

 

How To Know If Your TikTok Story Is Posted

Once you’ve clicked the ‘post’ icon, your story should start showing up once you click your account handle. A blue ring should encircle the profile picture on your account; this indicates a live story is up. Your followers will view the same thing and have your stories pop up on their ‘following’ page as well. 

Furthermore, your audience can view your stories on their ‘For You’ pages if your video has gained enough traction. Audiences can like, comment, and share your story, just like other social media platforms. Henceforth, posting TikTok stories is a simple and easy way to interact casually with your online audience. 

 

How To Delete TikTok Story

If you’ve accidentally posted a story meant to be a draft or just a mistake, there’s no need to fret. You can quickly delete your stories, just the way you can delete them in other social media applications. Just follow our guide below to delete your TikTok story quickly.

 

Step #1: Open Your Profile 

Open the TikTok application on your phone. Once you’ve done so, click on the ‘Profile’ icon. This icon can be found in the bottom panel once TikTok loads on your phone. 

 

Step #2: Profile Picture

Your profile will show the icon that you use as your profile picture. If a blue ring encircles it, your story is still up. Click on your profile icon to open this story. 

 

Step #3: Three-Dots Menu

Once you’ve accessed your stories, all you need to do is access the menu. However, if you’ve posted multiple stories and want to delete a specific one, you’ll have to keep clicking until you’re on the story screen of what you want to delete. Then, you’ll find the three-dots menu on the screen; click on it. 

 

Step #4: Delete

All you need to do now is press the ‘delete’ option. A confirmation message will pop up on your screen about the permanence of deleting your story; click on the ‘delete’ option again, and you’re good to go. 

If your internet experienced connectivity issues while trying to delete your story, chances are your story might still be up. An excellent way to double-check is to refresh your profile page. Your story is gone for good if it’s not encircled by a blue ring anymore. Furthermore, no one will be notified if you delete your TikTok story until they check your account. 

 

How To Delete TikTok Video

Like deleting stories, deleting a permanent video on TikTok is pretty straightforward. If you’d like to remove a video from your account, the best way is to delete it permanently. If you want to delete your TikTok video, follow the guide below. 

 

Step #1: Open Your Profile

Launch the TikTok application and access your account through the bottom panel. There’s an option for ‘profile’ that will lead you right to your account. 

 

Step #2: Select Video

Your videos will pop up; click on the one you want to delete. If you’d like to delete a draft instead of a posted video, you’ll have to head to the drafts menu that shows up right on top of all your videos. 

 

Step #3: Three-Dots Menu

Once you’ve accessed the video you’d like to delete, click on the three-dots menu on the screen. This will show multiple options of what you do to your video after posting to your account. 

 

Step #4: Delete

All you need to do now is click the ‘delete’ option. Then, press ‘delete’ again once the confirmation message appears on your screen. After that, your video is permanently deleted and cannot be seen by your audience anymore. If they’ve bookmarked your video, it’ll show up as ‘unavailable.’ 

 

How To Make A Story On TikTok

Making stories is simple; you must launch your TikTok application and click on the camera option on the bottom panel. The same camera option is used for posting videos and stories. 

Then, on the black bottom panel, you’ll find an option for ‘story,’ next to the ‘camera’ option. Click on it and record your video. Unfortunately, you can only record up to 15 seconds. If you have a longer video, you’ll have to break them up. Lastly, press the ‘post’ button once you’re done, and you can find it on your account! 

 

Can You View Deleted Stories On TikTok

TikTok ensures complete privacy to those who willingly remove their content from their account. This means that no one will be informed once you delete your stories, and no one will be able to access a deleted story. However, if someone screen-recorded your story before you could delete it, they’ll have access. Other than that, there’s no way to view anyone’s deleted stories on TikTok. 

 

Can You Recover Deleted TikTok Story 

Currently, you cannot. Unfortunately, TikTok offers you options to restore or recover your TikTok videos, but TikTok stories cannot be recovered. Instagram has recently offered options for story recovery, but TikTok has yet to catch up. You can permanently save your accounts before posting, so you’ll always have a backup in the camera roll if you delete them. 

 

TikTok Story Not Being Deleted

If your TikTok story keeps showing up, even after clicking on the ‘delete’ option, there could be a few issues. First, TikTok can undergo regular maintenance, which causes the application to glitch and malfunction. The only solution is to wait for at least 15 minutes and try again. 

If the problem persists for too long, internet connectivity issues can also cause a story to be prevented from deletion. You could restart your internet modem and try deleting your story again. 

 

Final Thoughts 

TikTok is a beloved social media platform for numerous reasons, including its user-friendly interface. This makes it very simple to delete and post stories and videos. You can also swiftly start live videos to interact with your audience in real-time. We’ve provided guides on how to delete your TikTok story and understand the mechanism behind these stories.