Will iMessage Say Delivered if Blocked? (2023)

iMessage is an instant messaging service developed and built-in exclusively on most Apple devices. The app allows you to send and receive text messages, videos, photos, files, and documents. But, some iMessage users have asked, “will iMessage say ‘Delivered’ if blocked?”

Will iMessage Say Delivered if Blocked?

Like other instant messaging apps, users can also be blocked on iMessage. This guide will show you how to know if someone blocked you on iPhone and some signs that someone has blocked your number on iPhone. Read this guide to learn more.

 

How to Tell If Someone Blocked Your Number on iPhone

Getting your number blocked for the first time on your iPhone can be unnoticeable for many users. Maybe they’re just busy, in the middle of their work, or have accidentally blocked you for some random reason. Here are the most common signs that someone has blocked your number on your iPhone:

 

Messages on iMessage are Not Delivered

Typically, you’ll see a ‘Delivered’ sign at the end of your conversation with another user. It will turn to ‘Read’ once the end user opens the conversation on iMessage and reads your message. So, seeing a ‘Delivered’ badge is not an accurate way of saying someone has blocked your iPhone number.

But, if the ‘Delivered’ sign stops appearing on your sent messages, it’s clear that the user has blocked your number. Specifically, ‘Read’ and ‘Delivered’ badges will be missing on your sent messages once you’ve been blocked, but they’ll still appear in the conversation.

Also, these messages will appear below past chats with ‘Read’ and ‘Delivered’ badges; these are the chats before you’ve been blocked.

 

SMS Messages are Not Delivered

If you’re transmitting a message on your iPhone via SMS messages, it will have the ‘Sent’ and ‘Delivered’ badges below the message. If your message has stayed on the ‘Sent’ sign for a while, it means that the message has been sent and has not been read by the recipient due to low signal coverage or other reasons.

However, if it never changes to ‘Delivered’ after a few hours or days, it’s a clear sign that your number has been blocked.

 

Phone Calls Ring Once Then Heads to Voicemail

Once someone blocks you and you manage to call them, your call will be redirected to voicemail and sent to the Blocked group immediately. The person who has blocked you will not receive your calls, won’t see it in their voicemail, and won’t be notified.

While this can mean that they may have just switched off their phone, once your future calls ring once, then they’re sent to voicemail, it usually means that you have been blocked.

 

Do Blocked Messages Get Delivered When Unblocked?

After you were recently unblocked on iMessage, your sent messages will now be received by the recipient; however, sent messages while you were blocked will remain undelivered. If those messages are necessary, you can try sending them again so they can read them.

 

What to Do Once Someone Blocks Your Number on iPhone

Getting blocked on iMessage and SMS can be a significant problem, especially when you’re eager to contact them. However, you can still reach out to your desired user through other ways, but it’s important to remember that once they want to be left alone, you should respect it. This avoids further issues, such as misunderstandings and harassment.

Below are other ways to contact a person who has just blocked you on your iPhone:

  • Email – Contacting them by email is a great way to reach out to someone who has blocked you. Try contacting them via the associated email on their iPhone. Also, use a different email address to ensure your mail reaches their end.
  • Social Media Social media is another popular way to contact someone when blocked on iMessage. Reach out to them on platforms where you know they’re active, like Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, and others.
  • Contact Using a Different Number – If you want immediate contact with a specific person through iMessage, SMS, or call, try reaching out to them using a different phone number.  Remember to address yourself clearly at first since you’ll contact them via a new and unknown number.

 

Final Thoughts

iMessage on iPhone is a great way to reach out to your family, friends, and acquaintances. However, it’s possible to get your number blocked on your iPhone for unknown reasons. Hopefully, this guide helps you know if someone blocked you on iMessage and the other ways to contact them once you’re blocked.