Does Facebook Notify If You Screenshot a Story? (2022)

Facebook is one of the most popular social media sites or apps today. Over the years, the company has developed new features for its site and apps. One of which is Facebook Stories, which was launched in March 2017.

Does Facebook Notify If You Screenshot a Story (2022)

But, Facebook users have wondered if you can screenshot Facebook stories. In this guide, we’ll show you if Facebook notifies screenshots and if it’s possible to know if someone screenshots your Facebook stories.

Read this guide to learn more.

 

What are Facebook Stories?

Facebook Stories are short, user-generated photo or video collections that can be uploaded to a user’s Facebook profile. This feature was created to be the second news feed for the site and is focused on using Facebook’s in-app camera with Snapchat and Instagram-inspired filters. Users also have the option to add geolocation tags and music to their stories.

The Stories tab is usually at the top of your News Feed in the Facebook app. You can view a story by tapping a friend’s circle. To reply to a story, tap the Reply button at the bottom-left side of the screen.

Like Snapchat and Instagram stories, once you’ve shared your Story, it will be displayed for 24 hours and deleted forever. However, if you turn on the Story Archive feature, your shared stories will still be archived on your account unless you delete them before they disappear.

Keep in mind that FB Stories are different from regular Facebook Videos.

Can You Screenshot A Facebook Story?

Yes. It’s possible to screenshot a Facebook Story through your phone, tablet, or computer. Whether you need to take a closer look at a Facebook Story or want to save it, it’s doable on the Facebook app or website.

To do it on your Android phone or tablet’s Facebook app, open your desired Story and press the Power and Volume Down buttons simultaneously. To screenshot a Story on an iPhone 10 or greater, press the Side and Volume Up buttons simultaneously. Afterward, the phone’s Editor app will open, allowing you to edit the screenshot. To save it, tap the Save button at the top-right corner of the screen.

To screenshot a Facebook Story on your Windows computer, navigate to your desired story and press the Print Screen (PrtScn) key on the keyboard. Then, you can paste it into the Paint app to edit it and save it as a .PNG file.

However, screenshotting a Story on a MacBook is a little different. To do this, open your desired story and press the following keys: Command + Shift + 3. You will soon see a thumbnail of your screenshot at the bottom-right side of the screen. Select it to edit and click Save.

 

Can You Tell If Someone Screenshots Your Facebook Story?

Longtime Facebook users have always wondered—does Facebook notify screenshots? The quick answer is no; you won’t receive notifications when someone screenshots your Story and other features, like messages and posts. Unlike other social media apps—Instagram and Snapchat—Facebook has not applied a feature where you’ll receive a notification when someone screenshots your photo or video story.

However, it’s possible to see if someone viewed your story. To do this, follow these steps:

  1. Open the Facebook app and tap the Stories tab on the top of your Feed.
  2. Select Your Story and select Viewers. Depending on the privacy settings you’ve set on your Facebook Story, you’ll either see the names of your Facebook friends or your followers (set as anonymous) who have viewed your Story.

You can also combine this with this method on how to see recent friend adds on Facebook to see if people are joining up just to screenshot you.

Final Thoughts

Facebook Stories are one of Facebook’s newer features on their app and website. It lets you upload and share short photos and video collections with your friends or publicly. Shared stories are deleted forever after 24 hours unless you have turned on the Stories Archive feature on your account.

Snapchat notifies you if someone screenshots a video while FB doesn’t by default. However, Facebook allows you to easily see someone’s friends, while you need a guide to see someone’s friends on Snapchat.

Facebook users are wondering if it’s possible to tell if someone screenshots your Facebook story. Hopefully, this guide helps you to know if Facebook notifies a screenshot on your Story or if any screenshots were done on your account.