Table of Contents

What is Minecraft?

Minecraft is a popular 3D computer game where players can use blocks to build their own virtual world. The Swedish game was created by Markus “Notch” Persson and developed by Mojang Studios.

Minecraft was made public in 2009 and was officially released in November 2011. By 2021, it was named the “best-selling video game of all time,” selling over 238 million copies with 140 million active users per month.

It gives players infinite possibilities of creating virtual terrain, structures, and machines on a 3D grid. Players also cooperate and engage in combat with other players in the Minecraft landscape. 

The game is available on computers, laptops, smartphones, tablets, and gaming consoles. Minecraft is rated for children 7 to 13 years old, but even adults enjoy playing the game.


Minecraft Game Modes

Minecraft gives users infinite freedom to define gameplay. The game has five modes, each with unique features, mechanics, and available purchases.

Creative and Survival mode are the most popular Minecraft modes.



Minecraft Creative mode is the best way to explore the game’s features. Players can access all blocks, tools, items, weapons, and potions in the game.

In this mode, users don’t need to worry about combat, health, or hunger. Gameplay is about building and creating in a relaxed environment.



In Minecraft Survival mode, players randomly enter new worlds for 10 to 15 minutes to gather and craft items for survival, including shelter, food, tools, and other resources.

Players will then have to battle mobs and monsters as darkness falls.



In Adventure mode, players need to take care of their hunger bar, health bar, and experience bar. Users can’t arrange and break blocks without the “CanDestroy” and “CanPlaceOn” tags.

In this mode, players use weapons to fight other players and deadly mobs.



As the name suggests, Hardcore mode has the most extreme difficulty level.

Players can die from combat with mobs and hunger. Unlike the Adventure mode, users only have one life and it’s game over if you die. 

Since respawning isn’t possible, you might want to practice with an easier difficulty level using Adventure mode.



Spectator mode is available on Minecraft: Java Editio. In this mode, players can view and explore virtual worlds but can’t interact and manipulate them. 

This mode is the best way to explore a virtual world


Minecraft Guides


Minecraft Version History

Since its first release in 2009, several Minecraft editions have been developed for different platforms and gaming consoles.


Version History
First Release
  • Pre-classic 
  • Classic 
  • Indev
  • Infdev 
  • Alpha 
  • Beta
  • Java Edition 
  • Development Version
  • Pocket Edition Alpha
  • Pocket Edition
  • Bedrock Edition
  • DevelopmentVersions
New Nintendo 3DS
  • Version history
  • Version history
  • Development version
  • Release
Minecraft Pocket
  • Android: Xperia Play
  • iOS
  • Windows Phone
Minecraft Earth
  • Final update:  0.33.0
Minecraft Dungeons
  • Most recent update:
Minecraft Launcher
  • Java version
  • C++ version
Legacy Console
  • Xbox 360
  • Xbox One
  • PlayStation 3
  • PlayStation 4
  • PlayStation Vita
  • Wii
  • Nintendo Switch